Hidden Universe Travel Guides: The Marvel Cosmos: With Notes by the Guardians of the Galaxy by Marc Sumerak

 

 

Okay, I suck. I’m not even going to look to see when my last review was. I’ve been in a bit of a reading slump this year and I’ve just found it hard to do reviews but I will try to do better. Feel free to shout at me, I deserve it.

Anyway, on to the book. This is a comic which is usually not my thing but I’m trying to change that – mainly because I want to read Buffy Season 8 – and I love Marvel. It is, as the title suggests, a travel guide to the locations in the Marvel universe. It talks about the place, the people, the environment, even how to travel and the best places to eat and shop … if there is one. TBH it kind of reminds of Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them – the original Comic Relief encyclopaedia, not the film – since it has comments from the Guardians in the margins, like Harry and his friends do in Beasts.

Overall I liked it. I wouldn’t recommend it to those who have only watched the Cinematic Universe – like me- or who don’t know much about the comics as it does give a lot of spoilers. I think there are even some new locations which are going to be in the new Thor: Ragnarok film. That being said, I loved the scope of the places talked about and finding out more information about the places in the films. You get a lot more detail on the creatures/ aliens etc. and their history and how their culture evolved which you just don’t have time for in the films. There is a bit too much of places on Earth but that’s understandable – a lot of action does happen on Earth so there are lots of places to talk about – same with Asgard actually.

The comments from the Guardians are really good at breaking up the information and adding some good humour, especially from Groot. A few of them are very meta like when Star Lord comments on the attractiveness of the actor in the newest Jurassic Park film.

The artwork is really good. Nice and clean with just the right amount of colour – not too dark, not too bright. I don’t really read comics … at all, so I don’t have much to compare it too or know how to describe them, but I liked them.

That’s all I have to say really. I know I’m late on this review, it was published in October and I actually read it about a month and half ago, and I’m really sorry for that. I did really enjoy reading Hidden Universe. It didn’t really feel like a comic since there was so much information, which is good for me to help get into them. I would recommend this to people to read as long as they either know what’s happened in the comics or don’t care much about spoilers.

 

 

Links:

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/29430600-hidden-universe-travel-guides

