Top 5 Wednesday: Book Trends You’re Tired Of

Top 5 Wednesday is a Booktube group which makes book related top five lists. I’m not very regular with my Youtube videos so I’ll post them here instead when I can.

For more info on the group looks here on the Goodreads page:

https://www.goodreads.com/group/show/118368-top-5-wednesday

 

This week is ‘Book Trends You’re Tired Of’. I’m just going to think of this as pet peeves, and they’re pretty common ones, so, sorry if everyone else has the same. Also I may have read others’ to  get some ideas.

5) Self Sacrificing:

Being selfless is great and everything but where are all the selfish and pragmatic main characters? It was one of the few things I appreciated in the Demon Road series.  

 

4) Chosen Ones:

Now I like Harry Potter and things like Buffy, but I’m really tired of there always being a chosen one; where the outcome of a conflict can only be solved by one person because it was prophesised or something like that.

I got really upset with Divergent because of something similar … well I was upset for another reason but that’s beside the point. All throughout the series we got that Tris was unusual because of her divergence but not the only one. Potentially anyone could of done the same if put in a similar situation … books not film…  Then in the last one she suddenly becomes the only one resistant to the gas that even divergents shouldn’t be able to survive in. It’s annoying.

 

 

 

3) Never Ending Series:

Don’t get me wrong, I love a good series but sometimes you just have to stop, Anita Blake series, I’m think of you.

 

 

2) Rating books before you’ve read them:

Read this on someone else’s list but I agree. If you haven’t read the book don’t rate it. I don’t really care how much you want to read it; you’re ruining the rating system. You can’t get an accurate idea on if it is enjoyable to read if most of it is from people who haven’t

I’m mean Winds of Winter already has over 4 stars and Martin hasn’t even finished writing it.

 

1) Love Triangles that aren’t Triangles:

Love ‘triangles’ can be interesting, I’ll admit, but most books and shows have them that they are overused.

They’re not even triangles. Triangles suggest that all three have an interest in each other when it’s usually just 2 people (usually male) interested in the same person (usually female), and that person not being able to choose between them.

It would be interesting to see all three interested in each other and the conflicting feelings that would bring. Hell, I’d love to see a polygamous relationships, I can only thinks of 2 books and one of them is the Anita Blake series, the other I won’t mention as it ruins the ending and it’s only hinted at.

