The Outliers by Kimberly McCreight

 

When agoraphobic Wylie finds out her best friend is missing she makes it her mission to find her. Stuck with her friend’s boyfriend she has to learn who to trust.

Pros

  • Relatable main character … to me anyway
  • Interesting plot
  • Good cliff hanger for next book

Cons

  • Couldn’t picture the characters
  • Didn’t really evoke any emotions in me

 

I think I liked the book. The main character – Wylie – was interesting. She has sever agoraphobia / social anxiety which isn’t something I see much in main characters so it was a nice change. It also made her slightly relatable. Much like her I find it hard to leave the house and I can go months without going out.

My only problem with her is that I can’t imagine her. I can’t imagine what she looks like, her mannerisms, anything. This goes for all the characters really. They feel distinct from each other but I just can’t imagine them. No idea as to why. I know Wylie has interesting hair when the book starts, because of something she did the day, or day before the book started, but I just couldn’t see it in my head.

Plot wise, the book was interesting. There were twists and turns and it was fun trying to work what was what. I didn’t always get it right but I wasn’t really surprised either by how it ended. If I thought about it it would have been my second guess for the outcome. One of the ‘twists’ I gathered pretty quickly, especially after something Jasper says – Wylie’s friend’s boyfriend – before they get to the camp. It wasn’t that hard to figure out.

I really wasn’t expecting what happened to the friend though, that was a surprise. A nice surprise … er not nice – trying to avoid spoilers here – but not something I thought she would do, considering how she was described.

While it was interesting it didn’t make me feel anything. I couldn’t find a reason to care about the characters much, mainly because I couldn’t imagine them. The ‘twists’ weren’t really that surprising and there wasn’t really enough mystery for me to care about the next book, though the cliff hanger was a good set up for the sequel.

Overall, just an ok book. Nothing really wrong with it and I liked it well enough but there was also nothing really noteworthy about it either.

 

 

 

 

Goodreads Link:

 

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/29888704-the-outliers

