Top 5 Wednesday: Favorite Fandoms (books, tv, movies, etc)

 

Top 5 Wednesday is a Booktube group which makes book related top five lists. I’m not very regular with my Youtube videos so I’ll post them here instead when I can.

For more info on the group looks here on the Goodreads page:

https://www.goodreads.com/group/show/118368-top-5-wednesday

 

This week is ‘Favorite Fandoms (books, tv, movies, etc). Like most people I have too many fandoms to name but I will try to narrow it down. You may notice that despite this being a book tag there is only one book fandom on here, I have no excuses for this and am very disappointed in myself but oh well, the title says it can be TV and movies and some –all, sort of- are related to books or have book tie ins. Honourable mention to Star Wars and Once Upon A Time, which, while I do enjoy, I haven’t watched every episode – not on UK TV and no Netflix make it hard to watch legally- I make sure I know what happens and scour youtube for clips – fanfiction also helps. Harry Potter also needs a mention and would probably have come sixth if I had more options.  My top two are my die hard fandoms, the rest I love a lot but will never beat the top two.

So here we go:

 

5) Marvel Cinematic Universe:

Like most people I love the Marvel films and TV. I’m slowly trying to watch them all – the newest season of Agents of SHEILD comes to UK TV on 10th Jan and once I eventually get Netflix again I will watch Daredevil and Jessica Jones. Film wise I still have to watch Ant man, otherwise I think I’m up-to-date. I stick to the Cinematic Universe since I can’t really stand comic books themselves – like the stories and try to keep up-to-date on what is happening in them but I prefer novels or something I can watch to comics.

 

4) Game of Thrones (TV) & A Song of Ice and Fire  by George R. R. Martin:

You may have noticed I follow some of the more mainstream fandoms and this is no different. I am finally as of a couple of months ago finished the books and eagerly awaiting Winds of Winter. The TV series I love just as much, and while I don’t have all of them on DVD, my brother does and his collection is with me as I try to get my mum to watch them. I have seen every episode and can’t wait till the next season, especially with rumours of a Tower of Joy flashback.

 

3) Sherlock (TV):

As a wannabe booktuber I should really say the Athur Connan Doyle books but I prefer the BBC series. I’ve actually only read one of the books – Hound of the Baskervilles. Sherlock is brilliant, despite what my mum thinks, Cumberbatch is a great Holmes – also looking forward to him in the Marvel Universe- great Watson and modern twists and I really enjoy watching how parts were filmed. I got really annoyed when I realised the Christmas special was not even on Christmas- I sadly didn’t work it out till Christmas Eve.

 

2) Doctor Who (TV):

I admit I’m only a New Who fan. I’ve seen a couple of the classic episodes but they just don’t hold a resonance for me as much and the new ones. David Tennant is my Doctor – another reason to watch Jessica Jones– and my companions are Rose, River and Rory, Jack as well but he got his own spin off so hardly a companion. I have been known to shout at anyone who interrupts me during it – might have thrown something as well- and I have a mini collection of some of the tie in books. I also may have used the show when learning psychology- River is a great way of remembering non-linear relationships- and have great memory of watching Blink in class for uni and laughing at people who screamed.

 

1) Buffy the Vampire Slayer (TV):

I had a hard time decide which should go first, this or Doctor Who, but Buffy will always be my number one. I grew up with this show and have every episode – and the movie- on VHS and slowly getting them on DVD, same with the spin off Angel. It also helped me through A level psychology with pictures of Buffy all throughout my notes. I was really excited at uni since one of my lectures has written so many books on Buffy and she was going to be my dissertation tutor till she got research leave. I was so happy that I managed to get Buffy into that project, having an excuse to watch your favourite show is always good. Spuffy forever. As I said earlier I can’t stand comics so slightly upset that Buffy continues as one but I try to keep up with what happens on there. My collection of tie-in books make up for it.

I really can’t describe enough how much Buffy means to me but I think I found someone who does. The first few minutes of Passion Of the Nerd’s video perfectly describes why Buffy means so much to me even ten years after it finished:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DnWkPh7uZiw

