Top 5 Wednesday is a Booktube group which makes book related top five lists. I’m not very regular with my Youtube videos so I’ll post them here instead when I can.

For more info on the group looks here on the Goodreads page:

https://www.goodreads.com/group/show/118368-top-5-wednesday

 

This week is ‘Books to Read by the Fire (winter/holiday recommendations)’. I’m not much of a seasonal reader, I generally just read whatever is available and looks most interesting, add to that I’m not much of a Christmas person, this list is going to be random. So here we go:

 

5) His Dark Materials by Philip Pullman:

I finally read this series this year and it seems mostly appropriate for the time of year. It definitely has a winter theme in it with polar bear like creatures and being in the snowy north of the world.

 

4) The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe by C. S. Lewis:

Probably more famous for its winter/ Christmas theme compared to His Dark Materials, The Chronicles of Narnia had to go on this list. There’s Santa, snow, a White Witch who reminds me of the Snow Queen – The Snow queen is my favourite Christmas film – what else could you want this time of year.

 

3) Harry Potter series by J. K. Rowling:

Christmas is all about children and Harry Potter represents childhood to me. I grew up as the books were being published and they were a big part of my life. As of yet they are the only books that I have bought – or got my mum to buy me- as soon as it was published, I usually wait until I could get it cheaper, but not this series. It has everything you could want in a story – magic, great characters, well developed world, good plot- I can’t rate this enough. Though for Christmas I would go for Goblet of Fire purely for the Yule Ball.

2) Twelfth Night by William Shakespeare:

Technially Twelfth Night – the actual day – is meant to be after Christmas but its still part of the season so I’m including this. I love this play, its lots of fun and represents 16th century ideas for the end of the Christmas season with the fun and games and the Lord of Misrule. Anyway a great play that I just wanted on the list.

 

1) The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern:

My best loved standalone of all time is not strictly a winter read but it represents Christmas to me. It’s nostalgic, whimsical, parties and there’s magic – sums up Christmas to me. Also some of the magically created tents are wintery like the Ice Garden the one that most stands out for me is the bottled scents room, something about is always reminds me of winter and Christmas.

 

 

 

 

 

Goodreads Links:

 

His Dark Materials by Philip Pullman:-

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/70947.Northern_Lights

 

The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe by C. S. Lewis:-

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/822603.The_Lion_the_Witch_and_the_Wardrobe

 

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire series by J. K. Rowling:-

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/864890.Harry_Potter_and_the_Goblet_of_Fire

 

Twelfth Night by William Shakespeare:-

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/1025424.Twelfth_Night

 

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern:-

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/10860047-the-night-circus

