Top 5 Wednesday: Favorite Retellings (fairytales, myths, literature, etc)

 

Top 5 Wednesday is a Booktube group which makes book related top five lists. I’m not very regular with my Youtube videos so I’ll post them here instead when I can.

For more info on the group looks here on the Goodreads page:

https://www.goodreads.com/group/show/118368-top-5-wednesday

 

This week is ‘Favorite Retellings (fairytales, myths, literature, etc)’. So here we go:

 

5) Percy Jackson series by Rick Riordan:

I actually haven’t read many of this series, just the first one, but it was the first retelling that I could think of. For anyone that doesn’t know it is a sort of retelling / continuation of Greek Myths. The title character is the son of Poseidon and – in the first book anyway- has to go on a quest through mythologies greatest monsters and gods to save his mother.

I love mythology, especially Greek and Roman- probably why I took an afterschool GCSE in Classical Civilisation- and while I didn’t continue the series I appreciated how the gods live in a modern world, Hephaestus was especially inventive in the first book.

 

 

4) The Looking Glass Wars by Frank Beddor:

I nearly forgot about this one but the spine of it was facing me when I went to bed. This is an Alice in Wonderland retelling with a bit of a twist- well I think it is a twist anyway. Alyss is a princess of Wonderland who is hiding in 19th century England. There she doubts everything she knows and starts to loose who she is.

This is actually another series I didn’t continue but unlike the Percy Jackson series it was because I haven’t seen copy of the rest of the series while walking around car boots – where I get most of my reading material.

 

 

3) The Comedy of Errors by William Shakespeare:

I debated between a few of Shakespeare’s works- Venus and Adonis, King Lear, History plays in general- and it came between this and A Midsummer Night’s Dream. I ended up with The Comedy of Errors purely because I don’t see Midsummer as a retelling. It does have characters from mythology and folklore – i.e. Hippolyta and Theseus – but the story isn’t about them or their story in mythology, its more they happen to be there.

This comedy by Shakespeare is a retelling of Plautus’s Menaechmi. The story is about twins who were separated in a storm and children and the issues that arise when they both end up in the same town.

This play is hilarious to and would definitely suggest watching the Propeller version live.

 

 

2) Alice Takes Back Wonderland by David D. Hammons:

I just read this book last month, hopelessly self-promoting here’s my review:

https://osbianreviews.wordpress.com/2015/11/16/alice-takes-back-wonderland/

This is partially a retelling of Alice in Wonderland again but it also has so many other characters from fariytales and literature. This book is hilarious with a steampunk Neverland and a gangster Snow White, too many characters and genres to name but really worth a read.

  1. Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Page:

Another book I only read this year but I loved it. It is more a sequel than a retelling but is the story of a new girl – Amy- being swept away to Oz and finds it under the rule a deranged Dorothy.

This book is really interesting, seeing how the much loved characters have changed and become twisted. There’s magic and mystery and political intrigue, what else could you want.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Goodreads Links:

 

Percy Jackson: The Lightning Theif by Rick Riordan:-

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/28187.The_Lightning_Thief?ac=1&from_search=1

 

The Looking Glass Wars by Fran Beddor:-

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/44170.The_Looking_Glass_Wars?ac=1&from_search=1

 

The Comedy of Errors by William Shakespeare:-

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/4458448-the-comedy-of-errors

 

Alice Takes Back Wonderland by David D. Hammons:-

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/22590207-alice-takes-back-wonderland

 

Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Page:-

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18053060-dorothy-must-die

