Top 5 Wednesday is a Booktube group which makes book related top five lists. I’m not very regular with my Youtube videos so I’ll post them here instead when I can.

For more info on the group looks here on the Goodreads page:

https://www.goodreads.com/group/show/118368-top-5-wednesday

 

This week is ‘Favourite Audiobooks’ but since I don’t actually like audiobooks I’m doing the week I missed last month which is ‘Hunger Games Moments (movies or books)’.

So here we go:

 

5) Plutarch explains the where the name Panem came from:

This is a moment from the books – Mockingjay, I haven’t seen Mockingjay pt.2 so it might be there- and it appeals to my love of classics here. Plutarch explains that Panem is from a Latin quote from during the Roman Empire- Panem et Circenses– translating as Bread and Circuses. The passage the quote can be summed up as meaning that the people will give you power if you give them food and entertainment.

Katniss rightly works out that is what the districts are for, to provide food and entertainment (Hunger Games) for the capitol.

 

4) Katniss tricks the guards:

I loved this moment from the books and I really wish they put it in the films. It’s from Catching Fire and it’s before Katniss goes back into the Hunger Games. The guards put up the electric fence around district 12 while Katniss is hunting. She manages to get over the fence and turns up back at home with a bag of stuff, pretending she’s been shopping the while time to the guards at her house.

It was one of those few moments that Katniss shows how brilliant she is without any influence from anyone else.

 

3) Hanging tree:

This is part of both the books and the films. I loved hearing the song in the film and is better than I could have imagined when I was reading the books. The background is what first appealed to me when I was reading rather than the song. I could just imagine a younger Katniss singing it, having no idea of the darker meaning to it. I also liked how it is used to help Peeta later on in the story (hopefully that’s in the film), it’s like Katniss’ father was helping her even now. .

 

2) Katniss and Peeta on the train:

This is just a cute/ funny scene in the films when Peeta tries to get to know Katniss. I always laugh when he asks her her favourite colour and she says now you’ve stepped over the line.

 

1) Johanna in the Elevator with Katniss, Peeta and Haymitch:

TBH just any scene with Johanna is brilliant. She and Finnick are by far my favourite characters.

This scene from the film is just hilarious. Katniss’ face when Peeta unzips Johanna’s dress, her wink to Haymitch and his thank you as the naked Johanna leaves is brilliant. I love this scene so much that when I think of the Hunger Games: Catching Fire it’s still the first thing I think of.

