Top 5 Wednesday is a Booktube group which makes book related top five lists. I’m not very regular with my Youtube videos so I’ll post them here instead when I can.

For more info on the group looks here on the Goodreads page:

https://www.goodreads.com/group/show/118368-top-5-wednesday

 

This week is ‘Books You’re Thankful For’

 

5)  Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë:

This is a bit a random one for me because I couldn’t think of a fifth book, so I’m stretching a bit. Anyway…. This was the first classic book that I ever read for fun and I’m thankful to it for not scaring me away from older books.

 

4)  Twelfth Night by William Shakespeare:

A lovely Shakespearian comedy that is in my top 2 Shakespeare pieces. I studied it for my A-levels and loved it. It made me enjoy analysing literature, a big part of the reason I ended up studying English at uni which I’m forever thankful for.

 

3)  A Midsummer Night Dream by William Shakespeare:

Another Shakespeare play and this was the first piece of Shakespeare that I enjoyed. It has everything I want in any book- fairies, mythology and made me laugh- what else do you need?

Even though I got called Hippo for a while after I first read it in class – I was playing Hippolyta- I still loved it and I’m thankful for it making me enjoy Shakespeare.

 

2)  Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern:

This book is one that I only read this year but it’s one that I enjoyed greatly. It’s a book that I plan to read again, which is something that I rarely do unless studying them. It was beautifully written despite the plot lacking in places. I’m thankful for it for renewing my love of magic and bringing out my nostalgic side.

 

 1)  Sweep / Wicca series by Cate Tiernan:

These books are my favourite books of all time, not because they’re brilliantly written or anything but because they were the first books I ever really enjoyed. Before high school I hated books. The only time I read was when you had to read in front of the class or someone at school, and being an incredibly anxious person I am it always led to a stuttering mess.

The series had everything that I could have wanted in a book- witches, magic, drama and a character I loved and connected to. I love these books and I am forever thankful to them for making me love reading and giving me someone I could relate to as a teenager.

I actually have a video review, which I made a while ago:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WlBXaaEf-DY

