Top 5 Wednesday is a Booktube group which makes book related top five lists. I’m not very regular with my youtube videos so I’ll post them here instead when I can.

For more info on the group looks here on the Goodreads page:

https://www.goodreads.com/group/show/118368-top-5-wednesday

This week is ‘Books You Did Not Finish’

So here we go:-

  1. Tess of the D’Urbervilles by Thomas Hardy:

I have tried to read this novel so many times, including for A- levels and Uni and I cannot stand it. I have never been able to get past the first few chapters. The language was just too flowery for me to enjoy.

  1. Ulysses by James Joyce:

Another literary classic but I cannot stand it. I can appreciate the premises and the links to mythology but reading wise it is a nightmare.

  1. Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky:

I tried to read this a few months ago but I had to stop. I found it hard to read since I don’t like the letter format or connect to the main character. I wish I could get into it since I have heard nothing but good things about it but oh well.

  1. Lord of the Rings by J. R. R Tolkien:

I’m about half way through the second book and have been for a good few months. It’s not that I don’t want to finish but I just haven’t got round to it yet.

  1. The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon:

I’m sure this is a great book but it just hasn’t held my attention. I will try and finish it at some point but not for a while.

